The Canada Labour Relations Board acts on behalf of, and the Vocational Training Advisory Council acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Labour, and the Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization.

The Unemployment Insurance Commission, which maintains the National Employment Service, reports to the Minister of Labour.

Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (SC 1949, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments. A primary function of the Department is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy. The Department establishes the framework of surveys throughout the country that provides control for all surveying and mapping in Canada. It produces the base maps used in the development of Canada's natural resources, conducts all the charting of Canada's coastal and inland waters, and issues official sailing directions and Canadian sea and air navigation charts. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into five branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories, and the Geographical Branch. The Mineral Resources Division, a unit of head office, gives its whole attention to matters concerned with the economics of mineral resources development,

The Department administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which

provides cost-aid to the Canadian gold mining industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Board on Geographical Names; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; the International Boundary Commission and Interprovincial Boundary Commissions.

Department of National Defence.—The Department of National Defence was established on Jan. 1, 1923 by the Department of National Defence Act, 1922, and was an amalgamation of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board. The Department and the Canadian Forces (the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force) now operate under the National Defence Act, 1950 (RSC 1952, c. 184).

In 1940 additional Ministers for Naval and Air Services were appointed and the Department was organized under a Minister of National Defence and two additional Ministers so that there was a Minister and staff for each of the Armed Services. Upon demobilization of the wartime Forces the appointment of Ministers of National Defence for Naval Services and Air Services ceased, and the Armed Forces were, in 1946, again administered by the Minister of National Defence without additional Ministers. Under the National Defence Act, the Canadian Forces are being administered solely by the Minister of National Defence and the Associate Minister of National Defence.

The Defence Research Board, created in 1947 to carry out research relating to national defence and to advise the Minister on all relevant matters of a scientific or technical nature, now functions under the National Defence Act. The Chairman of the Board has a status equivalent to that of a Chief of Staff of one of the Canadian Forces.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1952, c. 185) which provides for a Board of Governors of nine members a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is Chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through a designated Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration). The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations"

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department was established in October 1944 under authority of the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1952, c. 74). It was originally formed as the Department of Health in 1919 and later became part of the Department of Pensions and National Health. This Department was replaced in 1944 by the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Department of Veterans Affairs.

The Department, headed by the Minister of National Health and Welfare, is composed of three branches—Administration, Health, and Welfare—and is administered by two Deputy

Ministers.

The Department has charge of all matters relating to the promotion or preservation of the health, social security and social welfare of the people of Canada over which the Federal Parliament has jurisdiction. It administers the Acts listed in Section 3, p. 143, and is also responsible for: the administration of the National Health Program under which grants are made available to the provinces for the development and extension of health services; the federal aspects of emergency health and welfare services; the provision of health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Eskimos and to other elements of the population in the Yukon and Northwest Territories; the provision of assistance and consultative services to the provinces upon request on blindness control, child and maternal health, mental health, dental health, nursing, medical rehabilitation, nutrition and hospital design; the inspection and medical care of immigrants and seamen and the administration of marine hospitals; the supervision of public health facilities on railway, water and other